School Technology Evaluation

Standard

School Technology Evaluation Summary

After reviewing the Maturity Model benchmarks for technology, my task was to rate my school on five areas: administrative, curricular, support, connectivity, and innovation.  There were four levels for each area: emergent, islands, integrated, and intelligent.  Overall, my school ranked in the integrated category.  Characteristics of an integrated school are regular technology use by students, use of administrative functions by teachers and staff, and access to Internet and technology training. 

By completing this evaluation, I learned a lot about my school and the areas where we are doing well.  I was pleased to be able to rank my school as integrated, although I know there are improvements that must be made to move us to the next level.  I will be sharing some of this information with support staff at my school to help us improve.  I will also make changes in my instruction to move myself into the intelligent level of technology maturity.

Below is the survey I completed for “Brown High School”:

Below is the full evaluation summary for “Brown High School”:

I assigned the following AECT Standards to this assignment:

3.2 Diffusion of Innovations
Diffusion of innovations is the process of communicating through planned strategies for the purpose of gaining adoption.
3.3 Implementation and Institutionalization
Implementation is using instructional materials or strategies in real (not simulated) settings. Institutionalization is the continuing, routine use of the instructional innovation in the structure and culture of an organization.
3.4 Policies and Regulations
Policies and regulations are the rules and actions of society (or its surrogates) that affect the diffusion and use of Instructional Technology.
4.1 Project Management
Project management involves planning, monitoring, and controlling instructional design and development projects.
4.2 Resource Management
Resource management involves planning, monitoring, and controlling resource support systems and services.

Leave a comment